Project X

So last weekend I decided to follow the crowd and went to see Project X. Its basically a documentary style movie about three high school seniors who decide they are going to throw a HUGE party for one of their birthdays. They broadcast the party all throughout school, all over the web, EVERYWHERE! so that they can have such a successful party that they will essentially be “cool.” Ultimately the party becomes out of control and mayhem ensues.
Just watching the beginning of the movie made me think of Superbad(2007), which is one of my favorite movies. (Yes I like ridiculous profanity and dirty jokes.) That kind of annoyed me a bit. Costa, one of the main characters, just seemed like the outcome if Seth Green and Jonah Hill had a love child. Aside from that and a bit of predictability, I did like the movie’s OMGWOW*(&*&%$*!!!! factor. I basically had my mouth open in shock and awe for most of the movie due to all the ridiculousness that occurs at the party they throw. All in all I’m partial to the film. I’m glad I saw it but I’m not sure if I’d go buy it when it comes out on dvd.

Leave a comment